Radha Madhav Society
Radha Madhav Society Apr 14, 2017
Words of Wisdom
Qualities of Saintly Souls IV      


In Chapter 16 of Bhagavad Geeta, Shri Krishna describes 26 qualities possessed by saintly people. Cultivating these qualities by practicing sadhana is important for all devotees who wish to make spiritual progress. This is the fourth message in the series.
13. Tyaag (Renunciation): Chasing the material world loses its charm for a devotee. Material objects that were earlier used for one's own use, become slowly but steadily directed towards serving God.
14. Shanti (Peace): A devotee becomes grounded in the fact that peace cannot come from any external person, object, or event. It comes from faithfully building a relationship with God and witnessing His grace at every point in life. 
15. Apaishunam (Restraint from fault-finding): Scriptures advise the devotee to refrain from thinking about other people's faults. Not only does fault-finding divert the devotee from his goal, these faults (real or perceived) start to take root in his own heart. An introspective devotee starts to focus on his own faults instead.
16. Daya (Compassion): The devotee starts to see God in every living object, develops empathy for others' pain and suffering, and rises above self-interest. 


Didi Ji


We would love to hear from you. Please send in your comments.

Name * (will be displayed)
Email * (will not be displayed)
Location * (will be displayed)
Comments *
Enter the number shown in the green box: *